Seventh Edition of Women in Financial Markets Scholarship Program

National Bank is pleased to announce the winners of the Women in Financial Markets Scholarship, now in its seventh year. At a reception to honour the recipients,Denis Girouard, Executive Vice-President – Financial Markets, joined by members of the Financial Markets senior management team, awarded a scholarship in the amount of $10,000 to each of three outstanding student applicants who have demonstrated a strong interest in pursuing a career in financial markets.

The winners of this year’s scholarships are enrolled in post graduate studies at a Canadian university:

  • Jaime Cahill is currently undertaking a Master of Business Administration at the Rowe School of Business, Dalhousie University
  • Sandra Kagango will be undertaking a Master of Financial Economics at Western University
  • Kwang Pithayachariyakul is currently undertaking a Master of Business Administration at the Ivey Business School, Western University

National Bank is committed to promoting strong women leaders in the Canadian capital markets,” said Mr. Girouard, “and we are proud that our scholarship program attracts, year after year, such impressive candidates.”

The scholarship program derives its strength not only from the financial support  it offers, but also from the internship and mentorship opportunities that help candidates familiarise themselves with the industry and the culture within National Bank.

The winning candidates this year were highly qualified, well-rounded individuals with diverse backgrounds and life experiences,” said Susan Monteith, Executive Vice-President and Managing Director, Client Strategy & People Development, “and each of them discovered their interest in finance through non-traditional routes.

For many years, National Bank has been rolling out a wide range of measures to increase the representation of women throughout the organization. Today, National Bank has one of the highest proportions of women in management among Canadian banks.

Author: Dylan Jones

Share This Post On